Open Coffee Club BBQ.

Posted: April 4, 2008 in bbq, open coffee club, terryglass, wifi

I’ve been harping on for months now about organising an OCC meeting somewhere closer to home. One of the locations that I have suggested was Terryglass, Co. Tipperary. It’s not exactly the centre of the universe but it is in a great settings on the shores of Lough Derg within driving distance of Limerick, Galway etc.
Internet connectivity is also not a problem as I have installed a wifi hotspot in a local restaurant/pub with free public access.
There was never much interest until a few days ago when a discussion was started spanning both Twitter & Jaiku about alternative locations. I first mentioned that I wouldn’t mind hosting an OCC meeting in the Technology centre in Birr, Co.Offaly where we have our offices. Then someone brought up my suggestion of Terryglass.
I chipped in with the mention of a suitable location and free wifi and things spun of from there.
Conor O’Neill mentioned planning it during the summer and having a OCC BBQ. An idea that was wlecomed by quite a few people!
As it turns out a friend of mine lives a few miles from Terryglass and he won the All-Ireland BBQ championships a few years back. I am sure that I can convince him to display the dark art of BBQ-ing Irish stylee.
So now it looks like we might be on to a good thing!
I am talking with some people in Terryglass today about venues and possible sponsorship. As some people might want to stay overnight I will also look into the accomodation options.
All we need to do now is pick a date….
Personally I think a mid-week date somewhere in June or July would be best. By avoiding the weekend we will possible have a bit more room to sit.
In order to get an idea of how many people would be interested I would appreciate it if anyone who thinks that they might like to attend would email me at evert-at-airappz.com
For those of you who are not familiar with Open Coffee Clubs I suggest that you have a look here.

Leave a Reply

