Guestpost: “What I Look for in a Financial Plan”

Posted: September 25, 2009 in Uncategorized

Following is guest-post #3 by David Kirk:

I’ve been asked on dozens of occasions to explain what I look for in the financial projections of a business plan.  It may be useful to explain here, hoping that it can avoid some angst amongst you entrepreneurs out there.
However, I have to add a big caveats here, since I am certain this will contradict may things your be “taught”, this is, after all, only my opinion.
To start with just a few bullets:
  • Five year financials please.  Really, I don’t expect an exit after three, and I’d sooner take another couple of years and get a better exit value.  And, the revenue in Year-5 is the definition of the company size, not the sum of all years revenue.
  • I don’t need to see monthly numbers.  That’s confusing accuracy with precision.  Yearly is fine.
  • I always calculate two sets of ratios; Year/Year growth, and the major accounting categories as a percentage of revenue.  The major accounting categories are; COGS and hence gross margin (only if hardware is involved – PLEASE its mostly useless for software), cost of sales, marketing, R&D, G&A and EBITDA).  It really helps if these are in the financials.  It’ll save me calculating them.
  • Don’t really care about the balance sheet unless there’s something on there I need to know about (e.g. some convoluted debt).  Quick Books can spit this out in a very brain-dead fashion.
  • Neither do I need to see Cash Flow.  I’m going to assume your asking for enough funds that you will NOT be going into a negative balance?
Personally I have no idea how a business will actually perform outside twelve months, and perhaps even only on a quarter-by-quarter basis.  So many people are intimated by putting together a five year forecast.  Its actually very easy.  I look for “operational integrity” in Year-1.  That means I expect a bottoms up model that, for example, calculates revenue by the actual number of sales reps * quota, expenses from the actual number of employees * salary + benefits, the actual commission on the actual calculated sales.  In short, how the business model REALLY operates.  IMO, if you can’t model it you don’t understand it
After that, Year-2, 3, 4, and 5 are simply Y/Y growths from Year-1 – but with different linearity/variability depending on the expense category – with a top-down approach.  For example, if revenue in Year-2 is derived from a Y/Y growth from Year-1, then that can derive the actual number of sales reps.
Tip.  Revenue growth is THE most important indicator of an aggressive but achievable operations.  I look for a yearly growth curve that I’ve seen to be achievable.  Something like:
Year 2 / Year 1 is x5-x7
Year 3 / Year 2 is x3-x3.5
Year 4 / Year 3 is x2-x2.2
Year 5 / Year 4 is x1.7-x1.8
The point is that the fastest growth must be in the early years when the base is smaller.  No hockey sticks.
You can find out more about David Kirk here. 
Leave a Reply

