Rituals

Posted: February 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

I have never been a person for rituals or routine. My life has always been a head over heels affair with no need or want for stability. I’ve lived in 3 different countries in the last 15 years, moved house a dozen times, had a number of different jobs and started several companies. Even getting married and having 5 kids didn’t do anything to stabilise this (not that I wanted to). The closest I come to a routine is that I put my socks on before my shoes, never go to bed before midnight and have an amazing ability to annoy certain types of people. In the last month or so this madhouse has been notched up a bit by my work for Haiti Connect.

However I noticed this evening that without realising it I had developed a small little ritual. At the end of each day, when most of my work is done (it never stops fully) and the kids have gone to bed, I sit down on my trusty couch pop open a Corona and accompany this with a Marlboro Red. Funny thing is that I had my first Corona nearly a quarter of a century ago. I can even remember that I drank it what was then called Cafe Americain (now renamed Ernestos Cantina). This was also the place where I first met the girl who would later become Mrs. Bopp albeit nearly 8 years after my 1st Corona. As for Marlboros, I started smoking those when there was only one kind of Marlboros instead of the dizzying choice of lights, 100’s, menthol etc.

Funny how after all those years certain things stick with you….

Leave a Reply

